How to factory-reset your DIRECTV C31, C41 or C41W Genie Client

I’m not sure why you would need to… but if you did need to, I’ll tell you how to do it. Remember that Genie Clients are non-transferrable so you can’t sell them or even give them away, and it’s hard to imagine a client needing to get so messed up that you couldn’t find a way around it.

DON’T Do it through the menus.

There is a menu option if you go to Settings&Help, Settings, Reset called “Reset Everything.” I have not tried this but I’m told that if you do this on the client then it will erase everything on the Genie DVR. You really don’t want to do that, unless you do in which case you should do it on the Genie DVR. I’m not sure why you would do it on a client.

INSTEAD, do it with the red button.

With the client on, press and hold the red reset button for approximately 30 seconds. Yes, 30 seconds. They really don’t want you doing this by mistake. This should return the client to a virgin state where you can re-add it and redo everything.

Again, I’m not completely sure why you would even want to do this, but it’s just one more thing in your arsenal if you’re trying to get picture on a TV when you can’t wait for a service call or a replacement receiver.