How to “Keep” a recording on your DIRECTV playlist

With two terabytes of recording space, it’s pretty rare that you run out of space on a Genie 2 DVR.  That doesn’t mean it’s impossible though, and sometimes you just need that extra level of confidence.

DIRECTV DVRs have always automatically managed space by deleting the oldest recordings to make way for new ones if there was a need for more space. Of course when DIRECTV’s DVRs only held about 50 hours of HD programming that was far more important than today, when you should be able to get well over 300 hours of HD programming on your Genie 2 DVR, and there simply isn’t enough 4K programming for it to become worrisome at this moment in time.

If you want to make sure that a program isn’t auto-deleted, there is an easy way to do this and it’s been there since the beginning.

Press the LIST button on your remote to go to the playlist. With the program you want to keep highlighted, press the ENTER button. This is the one next to the zero, not the SELECT button in the middle.

You’ll see the word “KEEP” next to the episode title, meaning that the program won’t be automatically deleted. You can still delete in manually the same way you always have, though, so if this program is really important to you, you’ll still need to be careful.

This same functionality works with the old Genie menus, but instead of the word “KEEP” you’ll see a blue “K” next to the program. If you have an old-style white remote with color buttons, you can still use the BLUE button to do the same thing. With so much hard drive space available it’s unlikely you’ll need to use this option, but on the other hand there’s so much good content on DIRECTV that you just may find yourself filling up your DVR’s hard drive pretty quickly.